Schools become more active in Council travel program

Lord Mayor Graham Quirk is encouraging families to pull on their sneakers and make the daily commute to school an active travel experience.

Cr Quirk today announced 47 primary schools would be part of Council’s 2017 Active School Travel program which encouraged students to walk, cycle or scooter to and from school, to promote a healthy and active lifestyle.

“This year 17 new schools have signed up to be part of the award-winning program to help kids improve their road safety skills and learn more about active travel,” Cr Quirk said.

“More than 92,000 students at 155 schools have been part of this program since it began in 2004, and over this time has helped to swap a third of individual car trips to and from participating schools.

“Last year more than half of students at participating schools were cycling, scootering, walking, car-pooling or using public transport to get to and from school on dedicated Active School Travel days.

“We know that children who are physically active on the way to school are more alert and attentive in class and arrive at school ready to learn.”

Cr Quirk said that schools involved in the program had a dedicated Active School Travel helper to assist with personalised active travel maps, free bike and scooter skills training, bus orientation and road safety training.

“There are plenty of incentives for students and parents with Active School Travel ‘passports’, competition and travel rewards offered as a way for schools to keep track of active travellers,” he said.

“This support extends to helping to organise school-wide events, broader community engagement and providing classroom materials to help schools realise the key benefits of the program.

The three-year Active School Travel Program is designed to educate and motivate students, parents and teachers to leave the car at home and actively travel, reducing traffic in and around school areas.

The schools participating in the Active School Travel Program in 2017 are:
• Moggill State School, Moggill (new)
• Robertson State School, Robertson (new)
• Mansfield State School, Mansfield (new)
• Belmont State School, Belmont (new)
• Holy Spirit School, New Farm (new)
• St Joseph’s School, Bardon (new)
• St Sebastian’s School, Yeronga (new)
• Petrie Terrace State School, Paddington (new)
• Ithaca Creek State School, Bardon (new)
• St Pius School, Banyo (new)
• Sandgate State School, Sandgate (new)
• Manly West State School, Manly (new)
• St Joseph’s School, Nundah (new)
• Greenslopes State School, Greenslopes (new)
• Oxley State School, Oxley (new)
• Norman Park State School, Norman Park (new)
• Windsor State School, Windsor (new)
• Ashgrove State School
• Pallara State School
• Holland Park State School
• Seville Road State School
• Mayfield State School
• St Flannan’s School
• Our Lady Help of Christians
• Morningside State School
• Salisbury State School
• Our Lady of Dolours School
• St Mary of the Cross School
• Indooroopilly State School
• Carole Park State School
• Dutton Park State School
• Mitchelton State School
• Kelvin Grove State College
• Ferny Grove State School
• Aspley State School
• Brisbane Central State School
• Our Lady of Mt Carmel
• St Joseph’s Primary
• Virginia State School
• Australian International Islamic College
• Newmarket State School
• Kedron State School
• Warrigal Rd State School
• Yeronga State School
• Zillmere State School
• Hamilton State School
• Jindalee State School
• Stafford State School
• St Dympna’s School

For more information on the Active School Travel Program, visit or phone Council on (07) 3403 8888.