Nominations Council shortlists films for Asia Pacific Screen Awards

Lord Mayor Graham Quirk welcomed the Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) International Nominations Council to Brisbane today (Monday, October 28), with entries now closed for the competition.

The Lord Mayor said the Nominations Council had assembled in Brisbane to view film submissions and determine the nominees for this year’s Awards.

“The Asia Pacific Screen Awards is the highest film accolade in the world’s fastest-growing film region: 70 countries from Egypt to the Cook Islands and from Russia to News Zealand and home to 4.5 billion people,” Cr Quirk said.

“The Nominations Council have an important yet difficult task ahead of them, to view the films in competition and determine the official nominees for this year’s Awards.

Cr Quirk said there was an outstanding representation of Australian films in competition for this year’s Awards, including indigenous filmmaker Ivan Sen’s Mystery Road which was made in rural Queensland.

Other films made by Australian filmmakers on home soil include John Curran’s Tracks, Catriona McKenzie’s Satellite Boy and Robert Connolly’s The Turning.

“With a strong line-up of more than 230 films from 41 countries, this year’s APSA competition promotes the cinematic excellence and cultural diversity of the Asia Pacific,” Cr Quirk said.

This week the 2013 International Nominations Council will determine the nominees for six feature film categories including Best Feature Film, Achievement in Directing, Best Screenplay, Achievement in Cinematography, Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor.

The nominees will be announced in the coming weeks, with winners then determined by the 2013 APSA International Jury, headed by esteemed Indian screenwriter and director Shyam Benegal.

Winners of the Documentary Feature Film, Animated Feature Film and Children’s Feature Film categories will be peer-voted by the APSA Academy members.

APSA Executive Chairman Michael Hawkins said he was thrilled by the competition.

“The films competing in this year’s APSAs are as strong and diverse as ever,” he said.

The 7th annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards ceremony will be held in Brisbane City Hall on Thursday, December 12 with nominees and industry luminaries in attendance.

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards are managed by economic development board Brisbane Marketing in a unique collaboration with Paris-based UNESCO and FIAPF-International Federation of Film Producers Associations.

The 2013 International Nominations Council members are:

  • Professor Hong-Joon Kim (Republic of Korea), chairman of the International Nominations Council. A published author, award-winning director and screenwriter, Professor Kim is also a former Commissioner of the Korean Film Council and is a Film Professor at the Korean National University of Arts;
  • Jeanette Paulson Hereniko (Hawaii), the founder of the Hawaii International Film Festival, a founding board member of NETPAC, and a former film festival juror at Berlin, Rotterdam, Busan, Singapore and Mumbai;
  • Kathryn Weir (Australia), head curator of the Australian Cinémathèque and also Head Curator of International Contemporary Art at Queensland’s Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA);
  • Meenakshi Shedde (India), an independent film curator, film festival consultant, film critic, film director and journalist who is the India Consultant to the Berlin and Dubai Film Festivals;
  • Producer Peggy Chiao (Taiwan), the former chairperson of the prestigious Golden Horse Film Festival, and the pioneer who cultivated the co-production of films among China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan;
  • Philip Cheah (Singapore), film critic, Vice-President, Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) and program consultant for the Jogja-NETPAC Asian Film Festival, Cinema Digital Seoul Film Festival, South-east Asian Film Festival, Shanghai International Film Festival, Dubai International Film Festival and the Asia Pacific Films website; and
  • Director of the APSA Film Competition Maxine Williamson (Australia).